Fiction · Young Adult

Little White Lies

36321744

Title: Little White Lies

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Page Count: 400

Series: Unknown

Publishing Date/Publisher: November 6, 2018 by Freeform

Format: eBook

Review: This book was a whole lot of fun.  For fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, this is going to be the next big read.

The characters in this story were a bit stereotypical (nothing terribly original), but I still enjoyed watching them navigate through a life of riches and scandal.  Although the story itself was bit formulaic (poor girl gets thrown into the deep end of high society as she is mentored by the wealthy family she never knew she had), I found it refreshing that there was no romantic subplot for the main character.  The story focused almost entirely on her personal quest to find out who her father is.

Although I very much enjoyed this book, there are a couple reasons I could not bring myself to rate it higher.

The structure of the book was not my favorite.  It starts out in the present then goes back in time to set the stage for what is happening now.  Although I generally like this type of structure, I only like it when it is done well.  The switches between the past and the present seem very unnecessary to me, and did nothing to further the suspense.  The story could have moved along equally well if the author had only done one time jump in the beginning and then caught the reader back up towards the end of the book.

The big reveal at the end of the book was entirely anticlimactic.  There are some authors that really know how to blow your mind with a big reveal, but this author has not quite mastered the art of it.  The mystery is resolved enough to make this book a standalone, but the author left enough loose ends that I suspect that she is going to try to make it into a series.  I, as the reader, feel perfectly content to leave the story where it ended in this book.

Reader: Bekah

Rating:

All_Star_GoldAll_Star_GoldAll_Star_Goldhalf star

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s